The Ursino Castle is located in the center of Catania and today houses the civic art collection. The castle was built by Frederick II of Swabia between 1239 and 1240. The goal was to create a residence that would ensure the defense of the family. In the following centuries it was almost abandoned until 1988, the year in which the restoration and recovery work began. The Museum has arisen thanks to donations from distinguished private collections of Catania, and is a testament to the cultural history of the city. The Museum houses a collection of paintings and sculptures from different periods from the fourteenth to the nineteenth century. The history of the collections seen the beginnings in 1826, when the Catania Giovan Battista Finocchiaro left the city of Catania his precious collection of paintings. Of this collection, which includes many paintings of the Neapolitan school, he was also part of the big depicting St. Christopher by Pietro Novelli. This first group of works is added, in 1866, the collection of entry Benedictines in possession of the City of Catania following the dissolution of the religious corporations. On the second floor of the museum are drawings, engravings, numismatic items and textile machines of a century Catania factory.